Beginning a Blog

A couple years ago I considered making a blog and even went so far as to brainstorm a few names and look at templates, but I got bogged down in the process and began to doubt that I had anything interesting to say, at least enough so that people would want to read it.

I decided this year I’d take another stab at it and begin my push to being a blogger during the Newbie Blogger Initiative which I had been following through some of the blogs I read. The other difference between my last attempt and this one is that I have clearer goals for what I actually want to accomplish with this blog.

  • I’d like to become a better writer for no other purpose than to please myself. Communicating effectively is important, especially online when text is the majority of how you are able to get your point across.
  • I want a place to chronicle my adventures in Warcraft and with other games in general. There will probably come a point in my lifetime when I eventually stop playing or perhaps even that WoW shuts down and I want to remember the people I encountered and the fun that I had.
  • I’d like to share my journey in certain projects with others in the hope that my mistakes along the way will help them avoid the same. Specifically I’m most interested in beginning the long grind of doing all of the Pet Battle PVP achievements and I want to catalog what I learn from complete noob to (hopefully) pro. Right now, I’ve not even attempted doing a single queued pet battle yet.
  • I want a place to keep track of my Warcraft Bucket List. Affectionately referred to for the current expansion as the MoP Bucket List. The end of every expansion is probably my favorite part of the cycle. I’m one of those strange people who look forward to the lull between the last content patch and the new expansion. My Bucket List is part of that which galvanizes me into action.
  • Also I have a lot of GIFs that I never get to use. And screenshots.

I’m incredibly excited to start this up and can’t wait til I get my blog in order.

 

20 thoughts on “Beginning a Blog

  1. I know lots of people who have considered blogging but have got bogged down in the overall plan and have effectively fallen at the first hurdle.

    Although having a name and a clear idea of what you want to write about are very important, it is easy to get lost in the planning and diverted by the finer detail.

    I think it’s great that you have taken the plunge and have a site with your first post up. Just keep going. Everything else will fall into place as you go along. Good luck with your writing endevours.

    • Thanks for the comment! I have a couple ideas to keep me going for a little while, I think what’s going to be important for me is setting aside time to write every day or so to keep it going!

  2. Welcome to blogging! That’s a very cute doggy gif you got there, looking forward to seeing more! πŸ™‚

    Some quick advice if you want it though:
    1) Don’t limit yourself to blogging just about WoW unless you like restarting blogs.
    2) For some reason your blog name comes up by default as “| And the journey to completing those Warcraft goals.”

    Very minor stuff, as Roger said just concentrate on posting first.

    • I think my focus will be mainly Warcraft based but I don’t think I’ll be afraid to post about other things. I guess I’ll see how it goes. And thank you for the little heads up there. I /think/ I fixed that? I’m still new to WordPress and their layout stuff.

    • Yay! Your blog is one of those I’ve followed silently for quite some time, I’m thrilled that you came to take a lil peek at mine!

      • dragonray says:

        Well feel free to loudly follow me πŸ™‚ Thanks for being a reader of my blog, that makes me feel all fuzzy!

        I like to keep up with people who read me, and try and find new people to read. There can never be enough WoW!!

      • Agreed! The app I used to use to read blogs seems to have quite a few that have gone inactive so I’m always looking for more myself. I think I’m going to rebuild a new blogroll anyway with this account and keep it all in one place. And even better, now I can comment!

  3. Hello there, fellow NBI-er πŸ˜€
    Your aims seem similar to mine, particularly the “be a better writer, because” part.

    I should make a bucket list. See if I can get some stuff done! Nice idea.

  4. I agree with your feelings about the ends of WoW expansions. I finally have time to fill out all the nooks and crannies that the game has to offer. Some characters I level quickly, and with others I want to take slowly and make sure that I am absorbing all the nuances of story and lore. artistry and mechanics that I might have missed on that early, adrenaline-fueled race to the top.

    • My thoughts exactly! I’m always thrilled to meet a like-minded individual, most of my friends and guildies give me crazy looks when I tell them I’m fine with waiting longer for the new expansion.

  5. Welcome to the blog world Imry! I came to investigate and thank you for following me on twitter and also to say I do love your goals for blogging – so many similar to my pown! Improving your writing and having a place for those wow memories are great reasons to blog and I hope you can keep at it so we can find out more about you πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! I’m really excited to be starting on something I’ve thought about for so long. I have to say though, your blog along with Dragonray’s and a few others are really what inspired me most to give blogging a shot! I may have done a little happy dance when I saw you two comment!

Leave a Reply

